Events » Plumbing Awards » 2024 Award Winners » 2023 Award Winners

2023 Award Winners

Winners and finalists at the 2023 New Zealand Plumbing Awards.

2023 New Zealand Master Plumber of the Year

This award recognises a Master Plumbers member that can clearly demonstrate its business acumen and drive for success. The recipient exemplifies the highest levels of professionalism and service.

WINNER: Devine Plumbing, Napier


2023 Kava Cup

The Kava Cup Award encourages goodwill between Branches/ Associations and their local communities, and fosters friendly inter-Branch/ Association rivalry.

WINNER: Master Plumbers Canterbury Association – Christchurch Charity Hospital


2023 Master Plumbers Business Partner of the Year

This award recognises a Master Plumbers Business Partner who demonstrates commitment to Master Plumbers as well as contributing to and supporting the success of the industry.

WINNER: Rinnai New Zealand

2023 Graeme Victor Smith Contribution to the Industry

This award recognises commitment to Master Plumbers, to the industry, to running a successful business and to developing young and future plumbers.

WINNER: Julena Phillips – JT Carter Plumbing, Hamilton


2023 Jackson Women in Plumbing Award

This award recognises a woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the plumbing, gasfitting or drainlaying industry.

WINNER: Mandy Burgess – Devine Plumbing, Napier

2023 James Douglas Medallion

The James Douglas Medallion recognises outstanding recently qualified tradespeople who have demonstrated hard work, commitment and determination to achieve industry success. 

PLUMBING FINALIST & OVERALL WINNER: Tyson Kihi – Advanced Plumbing HB Ltd, Hawkes Bay

GASFITTING FINALIST: Cameron Ryder – HiFlo Plumbing, Oamaru

DRAINLAYING FINALIST: Max Porter – Evergreen Plumbing Group, Hawera


2023 Outstanding Project of the Year

The award recognises an exceptional project that displays excellence and high levels of innovative plumbing, gasfitting or drainlaying methods.

WINNER: Cyclone Response Showers – McBeth Plumbing and Gas, Taupo


2023 New Zealand Plumber, Gasfitter or Drainlayer of the Year

This award recognises excellence in the trade skills of an individual Certifying Plumber, Gasfitter or Drainlayer, who is a respected member of their trade and known for their leadership skills. 

WINNER: Darren Smith – Hutt Gas and Plumbing, Lower Hutt

2023 Product of the Year

This award recognises the significant contribution to product development of a company or individual in the plumbing, gasfitting and drainlaying industry in the past year.

WINNER: K-Valve – MM Brands



2023 Training Leader of the Year

This award recognises an individual who has gone beyond the call of duty to help educate and support people entering the industry. 

WINNER: Dave Henderson, Quix Commercial Ltd, Auckland


2023 Plumbing World Scholarships

These are awarded to three Masterlink apprentices who have demonstrated diligence in their assignment completions, and maturity and personal growth over the past year. 

OVERALL WINNER: Sebastian Sekene – Heron Plumbing, Auckland

WINNER: Andrew Smith – EG Glennie & Co, Wellington

WINNER: Emma de Salis – McBeth Plumbing and Gas, Taupo


2022 Award Winners>>

2019 Award Winners>>

Our Network

Our Partners

All Partners