Events » Plumbing Awards » 2024 Award Winners » 2022 Award Winners

2022 Award Winners

Winners and finalists at the 2022 New Zealand Plumbing Awards.

2022 New Zealand Master Plumber of the Year

This award recognises a Master Plumbers member that can clearly demonstrate its business acumen and drive for success. The recipient will exemplify the highest levels of professionalism and service.

WINNER: BOI Plumbing and Gas Ltd, Kerikeri


2022 Graeme Victor Smith Contribution to the Industry

This award is presented in recognition of values important to Graeme Smith’s career and personal involvement in the industry. It recognises commitment to Master Plumbers, to the industry, to running a successful business and to developing young and future plumbers.

WINNER: Ralph McBeth – McBeth Plumbing & Gas, Taupo


2022 Jackson Women in Plumbing Award

This award recognises a woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the plumbing, gasfitting or drainlaying industry.

WINNER: Helen Mitchell 


2022 James Douglas Medallion

The prestigious James Douglas Medallion has been awarded each year since 1948. It recognises outstanding recently qualified tradespersons who have demonstrated hard work, commitment, and determination to achieve industry success. Young people are the lifeblood of our industry, and it is important we are able to attract and retain the best young people entering the workforce.

PLUMBING FINALIST & OVERALL WINNER: Ryan Wilson (pictured)– Hutt Gas and Plumbing Systems Ltd, Hutt Valley

GASFITTING FINALIST: Kane Milburn – Manawatu Plumbing and Maintenance Limited, Palmerston North

DRAINLAYING FINALIST: Henry Rombouts – Laser Plumbing Cambridge


2022 Outstanding Project of the Year

The award recognises an exceptional project that displays excellence and high levels of innovative plumbing, gasfitting and drainlaying methods, the use of new materials or the innovative use of existing materials.

WINNER: The Floatation Sanctuary – Climate & Plumbing, New Plymouth

2022 New Zealand Plumber, Gasfitter or Drainlayer of the Year

This award recognises excellence in the trade skills of an individual Certifying Plumber, Gasfitter or Drainlayer, who is a respected member of their trade and known for their leadership skills. The winner will have demonstrated ability in trade calculations; in the selection of materials appropriate to the specifications and design of their work; and in applying relevant documentation and regulatory compliance to their work.

WINNER: Sam Arundel – The Drainage Department Ltd, Mt Maunganui

2022 Product of the Year

This award recognises the significant contribution to product development of a company or individual in the plumbing, gasfitting and drainlaying industry in the past year.

WINNER: StormSlab – APD

HIGHLY COMMENDED: City 50 – St Michel


2022 Training Leader of the Year

This award recognises an individual who has gone beyond the call of duty to help educate and support people entering the industry. The winner will have demonstrated a true commitment to young people entering the industry, and an understanding of efforts required in building knowledge and standards within the sector. He or she deserves to be recognised for hard work and dedication to strengthening the industry.

WINNER: Tom Berkley, Auckland Plumbers Group Ltd


2022 Plumbing World Scholarships

These are awarded to three Masterlink apprentices who have demonstrated diligence in their assignment completions, and maturity and personal growth over the past year. They are a true asset to their Masterlink Host business. Each scholarship recipient receives a $1,000 credit at their local Plumbing World branch.

OVERALL WINNER: James Moore (right) – EG Glennie & Co (1980) Ltd, Wellington

WINNER: Bayley Wilkie (centre) – Laser Plumbing Te Puke

WINNER: Jedric Haymes (left) – Plumbing Services Nelson Ltd



Our Network

Our Partners

All Partners